reSolve showcase at the Shine Dome

Published 05 September 2018

Wednesday 15 August was a momentous day for reSolve! Twenty-nine Champions gathered at the iconic Shine Dome at the Australian Academy of Science in Canberra to receive their Champions certificates. It was a wonderful celebration of 12 months of hard work, including providing feedback, presenting workshops to colleagues and attending intensive workshops during their own time. All for the glory of being a Champion!

The day started with ten thoughtful and inspiring presentations by Champions, showcasing and celebrating their journeys:

  • Mark Ward, Urrbrae Agricultural High School, SA: Growing a community via problem solving and reasoning
  • Stephanie van der Schans, Glen Huon Primary School, Tasmania: Re-igniting Engagement with reSolve – Enthusiasm, motivation and inspiration in students and colleagues alike
  • Rebecca Keough, St Mary’s Primary School, NSW: Using inquiry pedagogy as a vehicle for student & staff growth
  • Kelly James, Tuart Rise Primary School, WA: Using the challenge of inquiry in social and emotional wellbeing programs
  • Jeddah Teasdale, Aurora Southern Highlands Steiner School, NSW: Wonder in the Maths Classroom
  • Jenny Missen, Daramalan College, ACT: Making the link between reSolve activities and curriculum requirements – Observations on the accessibility of reSolve activities
  • Jeni McCarthy, St Bernard’s Primary School, NSW: Tracking student growth — a stimulus for using reSolve resources
  • Emma Sandford, Forrest Primary School, ACT: Using inquiry as a vehicle for whole school change
  • Tom Pearce, Aspendale Primary School, Vic: Working with other teachers to develop classroom resources
  • Greg Oates, University of Tasmania: Using reSolve resources to provoke pre-service teachers about inquiry - Linking reSolve resources to the Learning progressions

During the next few months we will make some of the presentations available through the reSolve website.

The day concluded with the formal presentation of certificates by Senator the Hon. Zed Seselja representing the Minister for Education and Training, Senator the Hon. Simon Birmingham, former Chief Scientist, Australian Academy of Science Fellow and now Chair of the Academy Education Committee, Professor Ian Chubb and President of the Australian Association of Mathematics Teachers, Jurek Paradwoski.

We were fortunate that many guests from state and territory education systems, mathematicians, mathematics educators and teachers could stay on after the Stakeholder Reference Group meeting and listen to the presentations. Desiree Gilbert from the Association of Independent Schools in SA commented: “The dedication, passion and commitment demonstrated by the presenters illustrates how the reSolve resources can be used to generate quality and engaging learning and teaching in mathematics.”